Our Team

Young Business Mind Awards is aimed at empowering the next generation of creators and innovators in the Hunter Region.


The inaugural Hunter Young Business Mind Awards (HYBMA) in 2017 were the first steps in creating a program to connect and energise the next generation of creators, innovators, entrepreneurs and business leaders in our region.

The concept was driven by the Hunter region’s Local Chambers of Commerce and business leaders who saw the importance of building greater relationships and connections between industry, business, educators, parents and young people.

The initiative was supported by the Department of Employment, Skill, Small and Family Businesses through their Hunter Futurepreneurs Program.

Now in its fourth year, the HYBMA has already unearthed lots of creative thinking and great ideas, some with genuine commercial potential.

Whether you enter or support HYBMA, you’ll be helping to build the future of our region.

Governance and delivery of the awards program and relative initiatives is under the auspices of Young Business Minds Inc, a registered Not for Profit Organisation.


Our Management Committee is made up of experienced members of the business community. Their combined skills and experience include every aspect of working in organisations at management and board level, within government, industry, corporate, small business and start-up enterprises.

Cheryl Royle


CEO, Fine Line PTY LTD & Hunter Entrepreneurship Facilitator

Bob Hawes

Board Member

CEO, Hunter Business Chamber

Suzie Leask

Board Member

Associate Director, Australian business Lawyers & Advisors

thumbnail_John Sahyoun
John Sahyoun


Vice President, Mid Coast Business

John Purcell

Board Member

General Manager, Career Links

Tricia Martin

Sub Committee - Chairperson

CEO, Virtual Intern

Libby Arnold

Sub Committee - Brand, Website & Processes

CEO, Adlib Creative

James Wooden

Sub Committee - Marketing

CEO, Intervergent

Olivia Hugget

Sub Committee - Program Design

CIRT, Operations Coordinator

Matthew Shillcock

Sub Committee - Sponsorship

CEO, Aim machining solutions

Jack Antcliff

Sub Committee - Sponsorship

CEO, Oasis Media

The HYBMA is about encouraging students and schools in the Hunter to think like entrepreneurs, to express their creativity and develop the self-confidence to present their ideas.

Copyright ©️ 2022 Hunter Young Business Mind Awards (HYBMA) | T’s& C’s | Privacy Policy

Don't miss out on our award updates!